Our Faculty

Our music teachers nurture a culture of excellence, achievement, and inspiration. 

Our world-class instructors produce students who go on to study at every top music conservatory in the United States, including Juilliard, Curtis, Colburn, New England, Peabody, Cleveland, Bard, Indiana, and San Francisco. Academically oriented students have been accepted on scholarship to every local university and top academic programs like Stanford, Harvard, Rice, Columbia, and Yale. In addition, our students place at local and national competitions, are heard on NPR's From the Top, and are frequently awarded national and regional level honors.






Chamber Music Studies

Dr. LeeAnn Morgan, Director of Chamber Music Studies
Katherine Baird, Preparatory Chamber Music Coordinator

Choral Music

Dr. Sarah Houghton, Choir Director



Early Childhood Area

Dr. Lisa Matsuda
Kristina Turner

GRIT Program

Mountain View Elementary
Rachel H. Taft, GRIT Program Coordinator
Erika Hubbard

The Guadalupe School
Kimberly Marsden
Monica Thiriot

Guitar Area

ab Menon
Sophie Stanley

Music and Movement

Mira Larson, Dalcroze Eurythmics
Ariel Haubner, Yoga for Musicians

Music History

Shenae Anderson, Conservatory Orchestra Coordinator
Eugene Watanabe

Piano Area

Dr. Whitney Pizza, Piano Area Chair
Dr. Vera Oussetskaia-Watanabe, Co-Founder
Joanna Oshida, Supplemental Piano Coordinator
Dr. Conlan Miller, Conservatory Collaborative Pianist
Dr. Alie Yorgason, Suzuki Collaborative Pianist



String Area

Eugene Watanabe, String Area Chair
Katherine Baird, Suzuki Program Coordinator
Kristina Turner, Suzuki Program Coordinator
Dr. Kate Jones, Suzuki Teacher Trainer-in-Residence




Dr. LeeAnn Morgan
Erin Nolan
John T. Posadas
Kristina Turner


Katherine Baird
Anne Francis Bayless
Brittany Gardner *
Kelly McConkie Stewart
Kevin Shumway

Double Bass

Katherine Baird
Dr. Kate Jones
Andrew Keller

Justin Morgan
David Yavornitzky

Voice Area

Woodwind Area

Dr. April Clayton, Woodwind Area Chair



Susan Swidnicki


Erin Svoboda-Scott


Dr. Amanda Hales
Dr. Jennifer Rhodes


* denotes adjunct faculty
denotes emeritus faculty current and founding board member