Preparatory Chorus

The Preparatory Chorus is open to singers ages 6 – 8, who have little or no former singing experience, through placement audition. Singers will learn the fundamentals of healthy vocal production, develop underlying skills necessary for part independence in ensemble singing, build confidence, and explore their voices within developmentally-appropriate vocal activities and repertoire. Students perform in two concerts per year. Students must have text-reading ability.
 
Dr. Sarah Houghton holds an MA from New York University, a DMA in Music Education from Boston University, and has most recently worked as Director of Children's Choruses at the prestigious New England Conservatory, in Boston. She is looking forward to building a vibrant choral program at the Gifted Music School.
 

Attend the first class risk-free!

or call 385.222.7787 now!

 

Course Details
   
Instructor(s) Dr. Sarah Houghton
Meets Tuesdays at 4:15 p.m.
Duration 30 minutes
Length 15 weeks
Starts January 24, 2023
Ends May 9, 2023
Age Range 6 to 8
Music Fee $20/semester
Location On Campus (In-Person)
   

 

Tuition for GMS Lesson Students
Tuition for All Others
   
$85/semester $115/semester
   

 

 

Spring 2023 (15 sessions)
   
Tue, Jan. 24, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 31, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 7, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 14, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 21, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Feb. 28, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Mar. 7, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Mar. 14, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Mar. 21, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Apr. 4, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Apr. 11, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Apr. 18, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, Apr. 25, 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, May 2. 2023 4:15 p.m.
Tue, May. 9, 2023 4:15 p.m.
   

 

Placement Audition

All new vocal students (or new to an ensemble) should participate in a placement audition. This will provide information as to whether the child should be in an ensemble or in voice lessons, or both. Come prepared with a short song (of your choice) that you feel comfortable singing. Interested students will participate in a 10-minute placement lesson with Dr. Houghton. Students should bring a song of choice to sing a cappella (without an accompanist); it does not have to be memorized. If you are unsure whether your child should be placed in the Children's Chorus, Preparatory Chorus, or private voice lessons, Dr. Houghton will be able to provide individualized feedback and recommendations at the placement audition. More information on the placement audition is forthcoming.
 

Questions?
Fill out the registration form, and we will get in touch with you!

or call 385.222.7787 now!